You are here

Album of the week: The Kenneth Bager Experience 'Premiere Classé'

Boppy, Balearic beats from the diverse Danish producer

Artist: The Kenneth Bager Experience
Album: Premiere Classé
Label: Music For Dreams
Release date: 24/06/2016

The Kenneth Bager Experience has announced the release of new album, Premiere Classé, on the Music For Dreams label. Bager returns to Ibiza this year, with appearances scheduled at a long line of respected venues including Pacha, Space, Jockey Club, Babylon Beach, Pikes and Raco among others. We kicked back and took a listen to this blissfully Balearic album that's built for the White Isle.

The title track is a funky, melodic number, complete with old school bass, eclectic drums and early Chili Peppers-esque guitar riffs - it's a tune that evokes the sense of summer, with a distinctly seasonal feel to it. Following this, 'Sunshine Stereo' is an '80s throwback that starts with a simple drum beat before kicking in with some John Carpenter sounding synths. It's more melodic than the last track and totally accessible, with vocals from Damon C. Scott and Tuccinelli used to seamlessly keep the mood upbeat.

Track three, 'Biological Bread', once again features the dulcet tones of Damon C. Scott, but this time boasts a more African vibe. Bongos signal the intro, which then mix steadily with a deeper bass and Fela Kuti-like trumpets that converge to make this a real tribal-sounding track that's deliciously uplifting. The fourth instalment, 'Sunset Over Hobro', featuring Jonas Krag, changes pace yet again with a classic Spanish guitar riff that slowly builds momentum with Balearic synths and minimum bass, before the crescendo appears in a melting pot of instruments and a fine guitar solo that hits around the 3-minute mark.

Track five, 'What's My Name', is another funk-inspired tune featuring the spoken word stylings of Sofie Gråbøl - of cult Danish crime drama, The Killing, fame. It's a nicely expansive tune, with the gentle lilting of the xylophone, a smattering of accordion and the occasional clanging guitar. By track six, we're on to 'La Serenata' - a tune that features Ibiza legend, DJ Pippi. It's a classic house track that bares all the hallmarks of the '90s - it's undeniably more of a club anthem than any of the previous tunes.

'I Wish I Could Be Happy' defies its name with a playful sound - it would be hard not to be in a good mood listening to this one. Beautiful female vocals abound as we're taken on a soulful Caribbean-style journey. 'Fat Bottom Penguins', the album's penultimate track, has a slightly darker feel, with slow moving bass, stripped back drums and dreamy synths, this is a proper chill-out track - perfect for the morning after a night out. 'Premiere Classé' makes a return as the album's final tune and a fitting climax for an album that's been a pleasure to listen to. Once I'm finished I'll be off to the beach with this in my headphones. Vamos a la playa!


1. Premiere Classé (Beat Mix)
2. Sunshine Stereo (feat. Damon C. Scott/Tuccinelli)
3. Biological Bread (feat. Damon C. Scott) (Short Mix)
4. Sunset Over Hobro (feat. Jonas Krag)
5. What's My Name (feat. Sofie Gråbøl) (Album Disco Edit)
6. La Serenata (feat. DJ Pippi)
7. I Wish I Could Be Happy
8. Fat Bottom Penguins
9. Premiere Classé

Related content