You are here

Album review: Pete Tong & Gorgon City 'All Gone Pete Tong Miami 2015'

Pete Tong fails to disappoint in the third instalment of his All Gone series.

Artist: Various, mixed by Pete Tong & Gorgon City
Album: All Gone Pete Tong: Miami 2015
Label: ITH
Release date: 23/03/15

Radio one legend Pete Tong teams up with garage inspired house duo Gorgon City to produce the latest instalment in his All Gone series: Miami 2015. Having previously produced albums with Skream and Tensnake, this compilation offers a showcase for all the latest talent with an eclectic mix of deep-house, tech-house and techno that's sure to kick off your summer.

Easing you into the softer half of the album Pete Tong blends the rich, reverberating vocals in Missing You with Johannes Brecht's Another World to create a haunting percussion backbone from which the mix emanates. The compilation is a slow-builder, relaxing you into the sound as seductive synths oscillate through the collection of tracks with hints of orchestral sounds and enticing vocals culminating in a euphoric, steady rhythm. Funkier beats bring the mix out of its mellow starting point and lead it to a crisper end, with Matt Tolfrey sticking to what he does best: minimalist sound that resonates with the dark shadowy vocals of Jamie XX. Pete Tong has his own production with Kingstown to finish off the mix in style, of course - it would be rude not to.

Gorgon City's heavier sounding contribution works to fuse punchy, mainstream beats with the techy sounds of the underground. Sharper rhythms transcend through the bridges from pure, unadulterated techno to the sweet lingering vocals of Anabel Englund and the funky, garage sounds of Gorgon city's own 6am. It marks their second contribution of four to their hour and fifteen stint. Sandwiched between the duo's specially mixed track for the album The Terminal, and their mystical-sounding hit Imagination, Traumer's Cyclo brings the strong-house beats back and reminds us of the haunting percussion in Pete Tong's first half. The familiar sounds of Dusky feel like a natural inclusion which rides along a strong bassline through to the end; the pair surprise listeners with a techno-inspired contribution that veers away from their mainstream hits.

An assortment of talent, a promising partnership, and a worthy compilation, Pete Tong and Gorgon City execute an amalgamation of house, deep house and tech-house into a smooth-sounding mix that's sure - after the somewhat eerie start- to get you on your feet.

WORDS | Grace Bright


CD1 – Mixed by Pete Tong
01. Missing You – Icarus
02. Johannes Brecht – Another World
03. Matt Tolfrey feat. Kevin Knapp – All About You (Vox)
04. Elderbrook – How Many Times (Andhim Remix)
05. Mat.Joe – Light Up
06. Franky Rizardo – Heater
07. Jonas Rathsman – Wolfsbane
08. Kidnap Kid – Fall
09. Joel Mull – The Last One
10. Guy Gerber & Puff Daddy – Indian Summer
11. Karin Park & Pandora Drive – Hurricane (Booka Shade Remix)
12. Röyksopp – Sordid Affair (Maceo Plex Remix)
13. Luca Guerrieri – Harmony (Original Mix)
14. Pete Tong & Kingstown – I Lost My Mind

CD2 – Mixed by Gorgon City
01. Gorgon City – Sky High
02. ZDS – The Bleeps
03. Human Life & Anabel Englund – El Diablo (Mia Dora Remix)
04. Coyu & Ramiro Lopez – 1, 2, 3… Fire! (Bontan Remix)
05. Gorgon City – 6am
06. Jimmy Edgar – Decalcify
07. Gorgon City – The Terminal
08. Traumer – Cyclo
09. Gorgon City – Imagination (Weiss Remix)
10. James Barnsley – Acid Tambourine (Original Mix)
11. KANT vs. MK – Ey Yo
12. Dusky – Yoohoo
13. Locked Groove – Enigma (Scuba's Warehouse Mix)
14. Beesmunt Soundsytem – Amsterdam 808
15. Hauswerks – You Make Me Feel
16. Jesse Rose & Trozé – Chocolate (Original Mix)
17. Röyksopp feat. Robyn – Monument Dance (Marcus Marr Dub)
18. Daniel Avery – Water Jump (Album Version)

Related content