You are here

Album of the week: Future Disco 'Nighttime Networks'

A tribute to the scores of night owls who help make clubbing memories round the world...

Artist: Various
Album: Future Disco 8: Nighttime Networks
Label: Future Disco
Release date: 20/04/15

London based label Needwant is back with the latest edition of its award winning Future Disco Series. Spearheaded by Sean Brosnan, this release perfectly captures the London/Balearic crossover sound which is at the heart of the Future Disco Series. Following last year's 'Til The Lights Come Up', Nighttime Networks is the eighth instalment in a series which has a history of breaking new artists that go on to dominate global dance music scenes whilst remaining unafraid to probe the largely unexplored corners of electronic music.

'Nighttime Networks' is a fifteen-track tribute piece to the scores of night owls who help make memories happen on a weekly, and often nightly basis, in clubs round the world. The album hopes to honour everyone who helps put the life in nightlife; those with the shared vision of framing their own culture between the walls of their favourite club.

The smooth yet warm sounds of Andras Fox set a precedent for this musical odyssey from the outset. The album then boldly combines rare remixes of Hot Chip, Zoot Woman and Crazy P's Danielle Moore with new material from Musk, Johannes Brecht, VIMES, Weval and Few Nolder, in a coherent sequence which will sound just as good in the morning as it did the night before.

A special mention for newcomers Musk and Weval who provide two of the release's standout moments. Musk's track Water immaculately sets the silky and soulful vocals of Merveille Mubakemeshi over a decisive bassline which makes her vocals simply pop. Dutch duo Weval's Something closes the album with an absorbingly melodic chopped vocal. UK producer James Zabeila perhaps takes the album deepest of anyone with his remix of the mighty Hot Chip's How Do You Do?

'Nighttime Networks' is house homage to the myriad of people who make nightlife so special - a taste of what is to come at upcoming summer residencies for Future Disco, including the summer series at Space Ibiza for Carl Cox Presents.

WORDS | Sam Hutt


CD 1
01. Andras Fox – Your Life
02. Musk – Waters (feat. Merveille Mubakemeshi & Avidus)
03. Ron Basejam feat. Danielle Moore – Dippin' In
04. HNNY – 12.00
05. Zoot Woman – Don't Tear Yourself Apart (Chopstick & Johnjon Remix)
06. The Working Elite – Freedom (Tuff City Kids Acid Over Remix)
07. Bufiman – Running (The Chase)
08. Krystal Klear – Fumer Tue
09. Johannes Brecht – Another World
10. VIMES – Celestial (Gardens of God Remix)
11. Few Nolder – Clouds (Boso Reversion)
12. Fur – Pulp (Linkwood's Stargazer Mix)
13. Hot Chip – How Do You Do? (James Zabiela Remix)
14. Portable – Surrender feat. Lcio
15. Weval – Something (Live)

CD2 – Unmixed
01. Bufiman - Running (The Chase)
02. The Working Elite - Freedom (Tuff City Kids Acid Over Remix)
03. Few Nolder - Clouds (Boso Reversion)
04. Johannes Brecht - Another World
05. VIMES - Celestial (Gardens of God Remix)
06. Hot Chip - How Do You Do? (James Zabiela Remix)

Related content