You are here

Review: Zoo Project ft. Monika Kruse at Benimussa Park, 20th September

Ibiza, BBQs, bumblebees and Boy Boy Boy....

I had been looking for an excuse to get back to the Zoo at Benimussa Park - the weird, wild and wonderful party outpost in the hills outside San Antonio - and it came last Saturday in the form of one Monika Kruse, a longtime heroine of the German and global techno circuit.

Whilst Kruse and the ever-eccentric Zoo Project vibes were the main draw cards, I must confess there was another motivation for making the trip cross island: the famous Zoo BBQ plate nom nom nom! Arriving at 9, I bee-lined past the fist-pumping sparkly giraffes, the drinking lions, upside-down umbrellas, swinging hammocks and spiritual energy circles and headed straight for the Zoo BBQ, where I quickly secured a plate with “absolutely everything please” and sat down with a Smirnoff Ice (when in Rome) to have my nosh.

Twenty minutes later and supremely satisfied, I walked past the TreeHouse stage, where sparingly dressed young things were sweating all their pretty body pant off to tech house tunes, and made my way on to the Seal Pit. The amphitheatre style dance floor was full, and Kruse was in the opening stages of a high energy tech-heavy set. In keeping with the fast moving, intense atmosphere of nighttime Zoo Project, Kruse moved through a variety of different styles quite quickly, including raucous build-ups which mobilized the masses across the narrow pool.

Kruse weaved slow and chunky house grooves into tribally snare sessions, for example in the aptly named Snare City, by Gabry Fasano and Riccardo Ferri, later moving on to slightly more progressive tech sounds with Marc Marzinet's Run Wild, then towards the end bringing in funky and melody focused tracks like Andim's Boy Boy Boy, released last year on Monika's own label Terminal M.

The dark stalls were illuminated by roving disco lights which caught flashes of glitter paint from the colourfully decorated crowd, whilst stage side was a riot of activity with leopard suited dances stalking along the floor, tribally adorned acrobats flipping across the stage and starting crowd-clapping alongs with their legs, mermaids flapping their legs in the pool and blowing bubbles and even a bumble bee (of the female human variety) descending on a rope from the roof and startling the smiling and laughing Kruse as it/she abseiled down the wall over the DJ's shoulder.

As always, the Zoo Project provides something unique and Ms Kruse rose to the occasion. It's about so much more than just the music, stimulating the senses and bringing out one's playful side whilst still maintaining a very high quality of DJ bookings. Next week is the Project closing and your last chance to get your sparkly animal on… Giraffes, tigers and snakes are popular costume choices, but I'm thinking hedgehog.

WORDS | Jordan Smith PHOTOGRAPHY | James Chapman


Full summer listings for The Zoo Project Sundays - 2020

Benimussa Park

The Zoo Project Opening Party

Sun 03 May
Benimussa Park

The Zoo Project

Sun 10 May
Line up TBA
Benimussa Park

The Zoo Project

Sun 17 May
Line up TBA
Benimussa Park

The Zoo Project

Sun 24 May
Line up TBA
Benimussa Park

The Zoo Project

Sun 31 May
Line up TBA
Benimussa Park

The Zoo Project

Sun 07 Jun
Line up TBA
Benimussa Park

The Zoo Project

Sun 14 Jun
Line up TBA
Benimussa Park

The Zoo Project

Sun 21 Jun
Line up TBA
Benimussa Park

The Zoo Project

Sun 28 Jun
Line up TBA
Benimussa Park

The Zoo Project

Sun 05 Jul
Line up TBA
Benimussa Park

The Zoo Project

Sun 12 Jul
Line up TBA
Benimussa Park

The Zoo Project

Sun 19 Jul
Line up TBA
Benimussa Park

The Zoo Project

Sun 26 Jul
Line up TBA
Benimussa Park

The Zoo Project

Sun 02 Aug
Line up TBA
Benimussa Park

The Zoo Project

Sun 09 Aug
Line up TBA
Benimussa Park

The Zoo Project

Sun 16 Aug
Line up TBA
Benimussa Park

The Zoo Project

Sun 23 Aug
Line up TBA
Benimussa Park

The Zoo Project

Sun 30 Aug
Line up TBA
Benimussa Park

The Zoo Project

Sun 06 Sep
Line up TBA
Benimussa Park

The Zoo Project

Sun 13 Sep
Line up TBA
Benimussa Park

The Zoo Project

Sun 20 Sep
Line up TBA
Benimussa Park

The Zoo Project

Sun 27 Sep
Line up TBA
Benimussa Park

The Zoo Project Closing Party

Sun 04 Oct
Line up TBA

Related content

from 2020
from 00