You are here

Flower Power smashes opening party 2018

Here's what's new at Ibiza’s favourite hippy hedonistic haven Mondays at Pacha.

Psychedelic wonderland Flower Power opened its doors on Monday to another summer of love. We dusted off our flares, tie-dye tees and holistic accessories and swung it all the way back to the 60s for a night of peace, love and music.

Now in its 38th consecutive year on the island, Flower Power, for those who don't know, transforms Pacha into an acid trip of vibrant colours, fruity vibes and funky sounds, a setting that Woodstock would be infinitely proud of.

Sunshine, dance, peace, freedom, soul, rock n roll, imagination, revolution encapsulate the utopian arena. Flower Power much like the flowers woven into hairstyles is guaranteed to blossom year after year.

Similar to the dance moves that pervaded the dance floor, this year's show has a fresh twist to proceedings. The crowd is still greeted to incense smells and the trademark hippie market upon arrival, but as you enter the time machine back to the 60s you instantly notice the differences from previous years.

The performers are even more outlandish and distinctive, the decor even more vibrant and colourful. The props have turned even more, fun and fantastic, the dance routines even freer and grooving. Motown in Ibiza Town is still thoroughly on the menu this summer.

The drastic change to proceedings is the adding of 1990s music to the track-listing. This new decade combined with eye-catching DJs on the bill besides the residents results in a reinvigorated Flower Power. The evening has also kept the traditional hippie vibes to retain its authenticity - perfect contemporary cocktail!

None other than Armand Van Helden was on the decks to bring in the new changes in style. What emerged was a 90s mash-up of tracks such as self-produced You Don't Know Me, Junior Jack's Thrill Me and Modjo Lady, kicking off the new naughties element with a bang.

Shoulders shaking, knees twisting, feet tapping, hips turning, ankles burning - the dance floor moves were churning up a delight of ecstasy and feel good vibes throughout the club.

The new elements certainly seem to suit the tried and tested Flower Power formula. Amidst the distinctive changes the personnel is still free loving, confetti still covers the dance floor and love is most definitely still in the air.

Just confirmed on the Flower Power line-up, Bob Sinclar, Erick Morillo and Louie Vega. See below for full listings and more details.

Spoil yourself at one of Ibiza's top restaurants

Cas Costas Grill & Market

Cas Costas Grill & Market

Playa d'en Bossa, Ibiza
Es Tancó Pizzeria

Es Tancó Pizzeria

Sant Jordi, Ibiza
Wasa.b Ibiza Restaurant

Wasa.b Ibiza Restaurant

Ibiza Town (Eivissa)

Full summer listings for Flower Power

Pacha

Flower Power Opening Party

Mon 28 May
Pacha

Flower Power

Mon 04 Jun
Room 1
Line Up TBA
Room 2 | Secret Party
Pacha

Flower Power

Mon 11 Jun
Pacha

Flower Power

Mon 18 Jun
Pacha

Flower Power

Mon 25 Jun
Pacha

Flower Power

Mon 02 Jul
Pacha

Flower Power

Mon 09 Jul
Pacha

Flower Power

Mon 16 Jul
Pacha

Flower Power

Mon 23 Jul
Pacha

Flower Power

Mon 30 Jul
Pacha

Flower Power

Mon 06 Aug
Pacha

Flower Power

Mon 13 Aug
Pacha

Flower Power

Mon 20 Aug
Pacha

Flower Power

Mon 27 Aug
Pacha

Flower Power

Mon 03 Sep
Pacha

Flower Power

Mon 10 Sep
Pacha

Flower Power

Mon 17 Sep
Pacha

Flower Power

Mon 24 Sep
Pacha

Flower Power Closing Party

Mon 01 Oct

Related content

Flower Power
from 00
Pacha
from 00