You are here

Ibiza DJ Awards 2008

So just who won what at the 11th annual DJ Awards ceremony ?

The 11th Edition of the DJ Awards took place on Thursday 25th September in Pacha, Ibiza.

DJ Awards flyer

The event was a huge celebration of yet another fantastic year for electronic dance music. Hosted by Des Paul (MTV UK and Capital Radio London) and Mariana Ribelo to a packed venue.

The DJ Awards marked 11 years of honouring the world’s best DJ’s and included live performances by both Ron Carroll and Fragma.

Pacha girls

As with every year the DJ Awards celebrates top DJ’s in several music genres from ´Techno´ to ´Trance´ along with the industry’s up and coming new breakthrough names.

The music awards were all voted for by the public, thus making them extra special for the winners.

Tiesto, Armin Van Buuren, Richie Hawtin, Steve Lawler, David Guetta, Adam Beyer, Sasha and Jazzanova were just some of electronic dance music’s leading names to take home a coveted DJ Awards Kryptonite.

Cocoon win Best Ibiza Club night

Special awards were presented to those who have influenced and dedicated their services to the music industry; Bill Kelly, co-founder of the Miami Music Conference and Beatports founder Jonas Tempel, also Cocoon (above) for Best Ibiza Night and Mark Knight & Funkagenda won Best Ibiza Track for their remix of ‘Man with the Red Face’ which has been heard across all the dancefloors of Ibiza.

David Guetta (below) after leaving the stage with a Kryptonite award in his hand headed for the DJ booth to prove himself a worthy winner as the sounds of his successful “F*** Me I’m Famous” party took the DJ Awards well into the early hours of the morning.

David Guetta and his latest award

The full awards won at the DJ Awards are :-

House David Guetta Techno Richie Hawtin
Tech-House Steve Lawler & Dubfire Minimal Adam Beyer
Progressive House Sasha Hip Hop Muchomuchacho
Deep House Phonique Electro House Deadmau5
Breakthrough Sander van Doorn International DJ Tiesto Downtempo & Eclectic Jazzanova Trance Armin van Buuren Best Newcomer Funkagenda Best Ibiza Night Cocoon

Ibiza Resident DJ Valentin Huedo

Dance Nation of the Year (Brazil) DJ Marky
Outstanding Dedication Bill Kelly (WMC)
Outstanding Contribution Jonas Temple (Beatport)
International Dance Music Festival Ultra Music Festival (Miami)
Media Award Resident Advisor
Best Ibiza Track Man With The Red Face (Mark Knight & Funkagenda)
Best Ibiza Set Luciano & Ricardo Villalobos (Cocoon)

Related content