You are here

Weekend Rundown - Monza, UG, 'Mish closing, Secret Sundaze, We Love

An illustrated review of last weekend's extended action.

An illustrated review of last weekend's party action.

Are you looking for a little advice on your Ibiza holiday? Maybe you're a lurker, possibly a post whore, but you won't find an Ibiza-focused online network with a wider range of opinion than the Spotlight forums.

It's not always pretty but it's not often dull. Please feel free to join this grammar-grinding commnity.

Ask questions in the Spotlight Club Ticket Shop:

http://www.spotlight-forums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=37

Get mixes direct from djs, including Space resident Nic Fanciulli's latest:

http://www.spotlight-forums.com/showthread.php?t=41116

Meet the encylopaedic t'n'a-obsessive McRackin, the Moscow-based Morbyd, London's pierced professional robder, get stalked by grego, debate the worth of club culture with stephen the super moderator, and let Barcelona resident silvia guide you round the Foro Español and introduce you to the hundreds of helpful regular posters.

Browsing the Spotlight forums is the most fun you can have without actually being here. And it's even quite entertaining if you are.

To continue the theme, here's a rundown of the past weekend's activities, forum-style:

Thursday (September 21)

Checked out Monza at Space with my flatmate Tom. It was busy but a little flat re: atmosphere till Loco Dice came on. He didn't bash out the big tunes but somehow managed to get everybody excited straight away. Vodka count - two tall ones.

Monza @ Space - September 21, 2006

Monza @ Space - September 21, 2006

Loco Dice at Monza @ Space - September 21, 2006

Loco Dice at Monza @ Space - September 21, 2006

Loco Dice at Monza @ Space - September 21, 2006

Loco Dice at Monza @ Space - September 21, 2006

Friday (September 22)

Arsed about for so long at home on Friday night that the Ibiza Town taxi queue was massive by the time me and Tom got there at around 4am. We called another flatmate Jim to come get us. He did - result! Thought we'd try Underground in San Rafael first as our mate Justin was playing. We were greeted by this surreal sight in the carpark.

Underground carpark - September 22, 2006

Underground carpark - September 22, 2006

Yes that is a horse. Inside some guy told me he'd queued for an hour for Manumission across the road at Privilege and still didn't get in. We decided to stay where we were till the 6am close then go over with J who was on in the Coco Loco at 7.30.

Missed the show completely but promoter Claire's grandmother and grandfather didn't. Here's them leaving shortly before dawn.

Manumission closing - September 22, 2006

Manumission closing - September 22, 2006

Manumission closing - September 22, 2006

the show we missed - September 22, 2006

Manumission closing - September 22, 2006

Coco Loco - September 22, 2006

Manumission closing - September 22, 2006

the loos @ Manumission closing - September 22, 2006

Manumission closing - September 22, 2006

Manumission closing - September 22, 2006

Manumission closing - September 22, 2006

the Music Box @ Manumission closing - September 22, 2006

Manumission closing - September 22, 2006

the Music Box @ Manumission closing - September 22, 2006

Manumission closing - September 22, 2006

NO2 balloons, ready to be released into the Music Box

Manumission closing - September 22, 2006

Coco Loco - September 22, 2006

Swigged some complimentary champagne, danced around, left at 8 or so but couldn't get a legal taxi so did the walk of shame down the aisle of the commuter-laden no. 3 from San An to Ibiza Town with no sunglasses. My girlfriend was just sending me the 'Where are you?' text when I got in the door.

Party rating - 7 out of 10. Fun but not a classic IMO. Can I ask what happened to the promised after party? I thought we were going to get a chance to trash the Manumission band villa too.


Saturday (September 23)

Picked up hire car as my own vehicle was stolen from outside the police station in Playa d'en Bossa on Monday. (If you see a white Citroen ZX with a licence place PM 4903 BT please let me know.)

Had a look at SecretSundaze at Gala Night at around sunset. They pulled a hip crowd and played good music but I was still a bit dazed from the night before so wasn't that into it.

SecretSundaze photos this way FYI

We gave Buckley and his missus a lift back home to meet his furniture-munching puppy, Joey. We both had good intentions to head for Mulletover's party in the hills but rain and fatigue sapped motivation and we both missed it.


Sunday - September 24

Did the honourable thing and got up at 9 to go to Mulletover's final Sunday morning session. The turn out was affected by the rain but there were plenty of people in good spirits. Experimented with some effects on my camera. Don't look at this if you get queasy easily.

Mulletover @ Space - September 24, 2006

Mulletover @ Space - September 24, 2006

The sun came out so had a beach break as Es Cavallet and read trashy papers. Boggled at the photo of 2,400 kilos of coke intercepted on a yacht off Ibiza.

Es Cavallet - September 2006

Es Cavallet - September 2006

Went back to Space around 2100 and got drunk in a corner of the sunset terrace with numerous Spotlight forum members. Tom Novy is not shy when it comes to getting on the mic or pounding out the hits. He finished up in true Balearic style with U2's 'With or Without You'. Sang along like Animal from the Muppets till it wasn't funny anymore.

More We Love closing photos over here on the Space site

From there circulated through various rooms. More genre-mashing madness erupted in the discoteca where Layo and Bushwacka! played Vivaldi followed some souped-up Blue Monday remix. Went home eventually and drifted off listening to spaced-out Ninja Tune tunes.


Monday (September 25)

Skipped Dc10 and wrote about all this lot.

Related content

from 00
from 00