You are here

Review: Viva Warriors Opening 2012

The launch of the new Wednesdays at Sankeys under the theme of the classic film 'The Warriors'.


By Spotlight

Steve Lawler could see such potential in this relatively new, mid-sized club, in Ibiza that he has decided to hold regular Wednesday night parties at Sankeys.

It's probably fair to say its been one of the most eagerly anticipated new nights for 2012, with some serious lineups be unveiled to all. The opening provided some of the best music I've heard on the island this year, with Steve Lawler and particularly the 'Elevator (or lift to some) of Techno' Kevin Saunderson playing some quality music all night, with the sound changing in style for the last few hours to proper good fun house music. My ears were treated to the likes of legend Marshall Jefferson's 'Move Your Body', Soulmagic's 'Someone Like You', and the tune that put the biggest smiles on the crowd - Nuggetz 'House Republic'. Absolute tunes!

The whole vibe of this party in this club felt great, with the soundsystem, the cool minimal lighting, the crowd of hardened music lovers the venue attracts and the fact the floor physically bends and vibrates to the bass, which is great for no another reason than it feels nice... yeah. And you know, if it all gets too much, and you need a moment to compose yourself there's always the rooftop terrace where you could sit off and enjoy the Warriors film in full. What a classic it is!

Oh, and when you leave be sure to check out the exercise equipment in the park opposite - the perfect way to warm down. My my, aren't we full of usefull information!

More photos to come!

More about: Sankeys, VIVa Warriors

Parties

VIVa Warriors Opening Party
Sun 01 Jun 23:59
VIVa Warriors
Sun 08 Jun 23:59
VIVa Warriors
Sun 15 Jun 23:59
VIVa Warriors
Sun 22 Jun 23:59
VIVa Warriors
Sun 29 Jun 23:59
VIVa Warriors
Sun 06 Jul 23:59
Basement
The Lab - VIVa MUSiC presents
Spektrum - Capadi Rebels
VIVa Warriors
Sun 13 Jul 23:59
Basement
The Lab - VIVa MUSiC presents
Spektrum - Capadi Rebels
VIVa Warriors
Sun 20 Jul 23:59
Basement
The Lab - VIVa MUSiC presents
Spektrum - Capadi Rebels
VIVa Warriors
Sun 27 Jul 23:59
Basement
The Lab - VIVa MUSiC presents
Spektrum - Capadi Rebels
VIVa Warriors
Sun 03 Aug 23:59
Basement
The Lab - Ralf presenta Bellaciao
Spektrum - Capadi Rebels
VIVa Warriors
Sun 10 Aug 23:59
Basement
The Lab - Ralf presenta Bellaciao
Spektrum - Capadi Rebels
VIVa Warriors
Sun 17 Aug 23:59
Basement
The Lab - Ralf presenta Bellaciao
Spektrum - Capadi Rebels
VIVa Warriors
Sun 24 Aug 23:59
Basement
The Lab - Ralf presenta Bellaciao
Spektrum - Capadi Rebels
VIVa Warriors
Sun 31 Aug 23:59
Basement
The Lab - Ralf presenta Bellaciao
Spektrum - Capadi Rebels
VIVa Warriors
Sun 07 Sep 23:59
Basement
The Lab - VIVA MUSiC presents
Spektrum - Capadi Rebels
VIVa Warriors
Sun 14 Sep 23:59
Basement
The Lab - MUSIC IS LOVE presents
Spektrum - Capadi Rebels
VIVa Warriors
Sun 21 Sep 23:59
Basement
The Lab - MUSIC IS LOVE presents
Spektrum - Capadi Rebels

Latest news

Starting at 4:40pm on Sunday with the outdoor arena and finishing around midday Monday with the sun

We continue to support rising stars in the scene with Holly Lester, a face you should know if you�

Relive the madness that was the 2014 season for Ibiza Rocks.

Let's get freaky.

You are here